Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NIAD Online Exhibition // “A New Geometry,” organized by e bond

July 14, 2022 to July 21, 2022

a "lamp" construction by Jeremy Burleson

About the exhibition

One of the many published definitions of Geometry feels to me a lot like a great working definition for abstract art: ‘the shape and relative arrangement of the parts of something.’ What is even more lovely is when that definition is coupled with the Ancient Greek meaning for Geometry meaning earth or land measurement. As these pieces come together I start to get a better sense of how to experience space, and how it might be seen, read, & recorded…The work I’ve chosen for this online show gives me the hopeful sense that space—real and imagined—is being acutely considered, accounted for, and revered all the time, in many different mediums by many extraordinary artists. These pieces are just a few from NIAD’s current cohort, that helps me embody the possibility of the tangible space I occupy each day as well as the infinite spaces just out of my reach or yet to be imagined.

About the organizer

e bond makes digital spaces by day, handmade books by night, hangs out with trees on weekends and writes something close to poems in the spaces between. Under the studio name roughdrAftbooks—created in 2003—she makes one-of-a-kind artists books, printed pieces and abstract drawings that merge and blur the boundaries of art, craft, design and poetry. e holds a BFA in graphic design and art history from Moore College of Art & Design and an MFA in Creative Writing and Book Art from Mills College. Her work has been published in 500 Handmade Books: Inspiring Interpretations of a Timeless Form and 1,000 Artists’ Books: Exploring the Book as Art.


View e bond’s “A New Geometry”


Artists in the Exhibition

Carlota Rodriguez

Sara Malpass

Peter Harris

Evelyn Davis

Susan Wise

Jeremy Burleson

Lupe Soto

Peter Harris

Felicia Griffin

Christian Vassell

Shana Harper

Shantae Robinson

Jeremy Burleson

Luis Estrada

Sylvia Fragoso

Julio Del Rio

Elena Rossi

Rebecca Jantzen

Jonathan Velazquez